Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Rebels’ engine number 9

Gladbrook-Reinbeck senior Colton Dinsdale named captain of Class A team

December 6, 2015
Reinbeck Courier

DES MOINES - Coming off its first state football championship in school history, Gladbrook-Reinbeck had six players named to Iowa Newspaper Association's all-state team in Class A. The Rebels had four players named to the first team, highlighted by senior Colton Dinsdale, who was named captain of the Class A team.

While Dinsdale's statistics don't stand out, his versatility and leadership did. A four-year starter, Dinsdale led Gladbrook-Reinbeck from his middle linebacker position with 94.5 tackles this season, spearheading a Rebel defense that allowed just 10.2 points per game. Dinsdale was the team's top receiver with 36 receptions, 579 yards and eight touchdowns, second-leading rusher (350 yards) and top kick and punt returner. His 93-yard kickoff return for a touchdown in the state semifinals helped G-R avenge a regular-season loss to Denver and reach the title game for the second year in a row.

Dinsdale had both kickoff and punt returns for touchdowns in a Week 7 win at arch-rival Grundy Center. He ran for 227 yards and four touchdowns in a Week 3 victory over BCLUW while filling in for Eric Stoakes, who was named to the Class A all-state first team as a running back for the second year in a row.

Article Photos

Gladbrook-Reinbeck linebacker Colton Dinsdale (9) celebrates after making a tackle in the Denver backfield on a fourth-down run during the Class A state football semifinal game Nov. 14, 2014, at the UNI-Dome in Cedar Falls. Dinsdale was named the captain of the Iowa Newspaper Association’s Class A all-state football team.
Photo submitted

After running for 2,473 yards in G-R's runner-up campaign in 2014, Stoakes racked up 1,628 yards as an encore in 2015, including 763 yards in the playoffs. His 282 rushing yards against Akron-Westfield in the title game set a Class A championship game individual rushing record in the Rebels' 52-20 win.

Leading the way for Stoakes was senior Dalton Schwartz, who was named to the first team on the offensive line for the second year in a row.

Along the defensive line, Tyler Eiffler was named to the first team for the Rebels. A third-team all-stater a year ago, the senior had 52.5 tackles, 13.5 tackles for loss, 3.5 sacks and three fumble recoveries.

Also named to the first team in Class A was Grundy Center running back Bryce Flater. The junior was named District 4 offensive MVP after running for 2,103 yards and 24 touchdowns.

AGWSR's Michael Young was named first team as an offensive lineman, while Grundy Center's Jordan Hook was named second team offensive line.

G-R sophomore Walker Thede was named the second team placekicker. Thede converted 5-of-6 field goals, with a season long of 27 yards coming against Akron-Westfield in the state title game. His 22-yard field goal in overtime against Denver moved the Rebels past the Cyclones in the semifinals for the second consecutive year. Thede was 54-of-61 on extra-point kicks.

G-R's Jake Schuman was named the quarterback of the third team. The senior threw for 1,801 yards and 20 touchdowns this season. He added 335 yards rushing on the ground, including 89 yards and two touchdowns in the title game.

Like the Rebels, the South Tama County Trojans had six players named to Class 2A all-state teams, including four to the first team.

Jerry Lowe was named to the first team as a running back. The senior rushed for 1,633 yards and 25 touchdowns, leading the Trojans to the quarterfinal round of the playoffs. Lowe was a third-team running back in 2014.

Sporting a defense that gave up just 44 points in 12 games this year, the Trojans landed three defenders on the first team. Seniors Justin Suchanek and Peyton Rutledge were named to the team as a defensive lineman and linebacker, respectively. Senior Cody Kellogg was named to the first team as a utility player. Suchanek recorded 48 tackles, 15 for loss, and led the state with 11 sacks. Rutledge, named the District 6 Defensive MVP, had 82 tackles and four sacks. Kellogg was one of the top defensive backs in the state, pulling down seven interceptions.

Kordell Schrock was named to the second team along the defensive line. The senior recorded 55 tackles, eight for loss, and four sacks. Senior Mitch Thede was named to the third team as a linebacker.

West Marshall had two players placed on all-state teams in Class 1A. Senior linebacker Jared Johnson was named to the first team. Johnson racked up 74 tackles, finishing the regular season second in the state. Senior Alex Schaper was named to the second team as an offensive lineman.

Colo-NESCO's Tanner Clatt was named 8-man's first-team placekicker. The senior was 3-of-4 on field goals and 27-of-31 on extra-point placements. Forty-seven of Clatt's 76 kickoffs went for touchbacks.

Meskwaki Settlement's Terrell Grant was tabbed a first-team linebacker. Grant was the offensive MVP of District 5.

Cedar Rapids Kennedy senior Shaun Beyer was named captain of the 4A team. As a receiver, rusher and punter for the Cougars, he led the team to the state finals for the first time in school history. He logged 816 receiving yards on 41 catches with 10 touchdowns, rushed for 618 yards and five TDs, completed 5 of 6 passes for 45 yards, and averaged more than 43 yards on 31 punts.

Noah Clayberg was named captain of the 3A squad. He led Pella in two back-to-back undefeated seasons and repeat state championship seats. Clayberg ran for 188 yards and two touchdowns and threw for 121 yards in the title game.

Logan Backhaus of Spirit Lake is the 2A captain. In his only season as the Indians' quarterback, Backhaus led the team to a perfect season, finishing 14-0 with the 2A title. In the championship game, Backhaus ran for 145 yards and four touchdowns, and completed 24-of-32 passes for 352 yards and two touchdowns.

South Winneshiek's Carson Lensing was chosen as captain in 1A. The Warriors' tight end and defensive end led the team with seven sacks and 53 tackles. As a tight end, he has 736 yards and 13 touchdowns receiving. Lensing has verbally committed to play football at Iowa State.

Ben Specht led Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn to the 8-Man championship, throwing a record seven touchdown passes and rushing for 140 yards and another TD in the Eagles' 57-52 title game win over Don Bosco. Specht accounted for 3,428 total yards, 41 rushing touchdowns and 25 passing TDs.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web