Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Cedar Valley Hospice volunteers recognized

November 10, 2013
Reinbeck Courier

Five Cedar Valley Hospice volunteers were honored at the Hospice and Palliative Care Association of Iowa (HPCAI) at a special luncheon held this fall in Altoona. HPCAI recognizes volunteers each year for their commitment to hospice and palliative care agencies and the patients, families and communities they serve.

Cedar Valley Hospice volunteer honorees were: Kathryn Manfull, Grundy Center office, patient and family volunteer; Eva Schmitz, Independence office, patient and family volunteer; Jeanette Garretts, Waverly office, patient and family volunteer; Shelli Pint, Waterloo office, board of directors and Friends of Cedar Valley Hospice board member; and Joan Nanke, Waterloo, Cedar Valley Hospice Home volunteer and Friends of Cedar Valley Hospice board.

"Volunteers are essential to providing the highest quality care with compassion," said Cedar Valley Hospice executive director, Marvin Fagerlind. "We are proud to have these volunteers as part of our Cedar Valley Hospice family. This recognition for going above and beyond for the patients and families we serve is well deserved."

Article Photos

Pictured are four of the five 2013 Cedar Valley Hospice Honored Volunteers: Kathryn Manfull, Jeanette Garetts, Eva Schmitz and Shelli Pint. Not pictured: Joan Nanke.

Cedar Valley Hospice is a not-for-profit, multi-service agency, providing comprehensive palliative and end-of-life care to terminally ill individuals, support for patients' families, and services to those who grieve. Services through Cedar Valley Hospice are available to anyone suffering from any life-limiting illness, regardless of their age, diagnosis or ability to pay. Grief support is available to anyone in the community struggling with the death of a loved one and is offered free of charge. Cedar Valley Hospice serves Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Grundy, Tama, parts of Benton, Chickasaw, Delaware, Fayette, Hardin, Linn and Marshall counties.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web