Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Gladbrook-Reinbeck High School teacher selected for Agricultural Educator Award

August 18, 2013
Reinbeck Courier

LEXINGTON, Ky. - Jeffrey Mayes, agricultural educator at Gladbrook-Reinbeck High School in Reinbeck, Iowa, has been selected as the 2013 Iowa winner of the Outstanding Young Member award given by the National Association of Agricultural Educators.

Outstanding Young Member award winners are agricultural educators who have been teaching for no more than six years and who have demonstrated significant progress toward establishing a successful agricultural education program. Applicants are judged on a variety of criteria, including teaching philosophy, effective classroom and experiential instruction, development of partnerships, and professional growth.

The Outstanding Young Member award was created to encourage early career agriculture teachers to both remain in the profession and become active members in their professional association. Mayes will compete against Outstanding Young Member award winners from surrounding states for the opportunity to be named the 2013 Region III NAAE Outstanding Young Member. Regional winners will be recognized at the 2013 NAAE convention.

The NAAE Outstanding Young Member award program is sponsored by John Deere as a special project of the National FFA Foundation.

NAAE is the professional organization in the United States for agricultural educators. It provides its' nearly 8,000 members with professional networking and development opportunities, professional liability coverage, and extensive awards and recognition programs. The mission of NAAE is "professionals providing agricultural education for the global community through visionary leadership, advocacy and service." The NAAE headquarters are in Lexington, Ky.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web