Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Hawkeye Community College honors staff with President’s awards

April 21, 2013
Reinbeck Courier

Hawkeye Community College recently honored faculty and staff by presenting selected employees with the President's award for their outstanding contributions to the college at the annual employee recognition and awards program. Employees were nominated by their peers, and winners were then selected by a committee.

The employee recognition selection committee evaluated the nominees on specific criteria, with an emphasis on accomplishments/achievements. This year's awards ceremony produced seven winners:

President's Awards for Outstanding Service were:

Article Photos

Beth Sindt of Reinbeck receiving President’s award.

1. Pamela Wright of Waterloo, Ambassador of the Year, Business Development Manager. Wright's supporters stated that she is a true professional who appreciates differences, takes challenges in stride, and sets a great example with a positive attitude and dynamic leadership style.

2. Martha (Martie) Heath-Sinclair of Waterloo, Innovation of the Year, Instructor (Natural Sciences Biology). Nominators for this award stated Heath-Sinclair had the vision to see that the use of a tool developed at Iowa State University for the purposes of research could be useful in the classroom as well.

3. Candace Havely of Waterloo, Sammie Dell Commitment to Diversity, Director of Library Services. Nominators said Havely's willingness and passion for diversity and inclusion is easily recognizable.

4. Nathan Daniels of Waterloo, Outstanding Service Full-time Employee, Virtual Hospital Technician. Supporters stated Daniels is very eager to learn and is incredibly supportive of new ideas.

5. Melissa Summers of Waterloo, Outstanding Service Part-time Employee, HESC Assistant Student Life Coordinator. Nominators stated Summers is an optimist on life.

6. Beth Sindt of Reinbeck, Outstanding Service Faculty, Professor (Business and Public Services). Supporters stated Sindt puts students ahead of herself, as she serves as a role model and mentor. She continues to improve teaching skills, searching for new ways to ensure student engagement in an active learning environment. Sindt also leads students with ditch clean-up during yearly spring breaks and she leads campus blood drives routinely. Colleagues continually turn to her, as "no" is not in her vocabulary. Sindt's list of committee and activity involvement is extensive and impressive, including mentoring new faculty and assuming various leadership functions.

7. Tom Mueller of Cedar Falls, Outstanding Leadership, Administrative Chair, Academic Support/Developmental Studies. Mueller has been described as dependable, innovative, transformative, funny, and knowledgeable.

Employees were also recognized for years of service as indicated below.

Dike: 5 Fritch, Trudy.

Reinbeck: 10 Sindt, Elizabeth; 30 Thompson, Beth.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web