Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Four candidates nominated for Extension Council

September 16, 2012
Reinbeck Courier

Four Grundy County residents have been nominated for four-year terms on the county extension council by the council's nominating committee. Their names will appear on the Nov. 6, 2012, general election ballot.

Denise Freeseman of Parkersburg announced the candidates. They include Dorothy Sheller of Eldora, current council member Christine Tobias of Conrad, Brandon Sowers of Parkersburg, and Vernon Johnson of Wellsburg.

Council members whose terms expire at the end of this year in addition to the incumbents listed above are Nathan Stewart of Dike, Matt Buttjer of Aplington, and Diane Haupt of Wellsburg, said Bill Arndorfer, Grundy County Extension and Outreach.

The Extension Council is the county governing body for Iowa State University Extension and Outreach. Council members hire county staff, manage the county extension budget and help determine programming.

"As an extension council member you represent your county in a partnership with Iowa State University; it's a good way to give back to your community," said Terry Maloy, director of Iowa Association of County Extension Councils. "Through interactions with ISU Extension and Outreach staff, extension councils provide research based educational programs that are valuable to county residents."

County councils contribute to a unique attribute of Extension and Outreach being present when needs arise and staying for the long haul. Council members and some 17,000 volunteers work with Extension and Outreach to increase the staying power. Through partnerships, they provide resources, research and education to assist Iowans, Bill Arndorfer said.

The nine-member council in Grundy County includes four members who were elected to four-year terms in 2010 and will continue to serve until the end of 2014. They are Glenn Johnson of Parkersburg, Linda McMartin of Grundy Center, Ryan Bakker of Steamboat Rock, Janelle Koenigsfeld of Reinbeck, and Bonnie Shinn of Reinbeck.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web