Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

GCMH Foundation awards seven scholarships

September 2, 2012
Reinbeck Courier

The Grundy County Memorial Hospital (GCMH) Foundation Board is excited to announce the recipients of the 2012 Healthcare Careers Scholarships. Kylee Button, Trista Metz, Brianne Nederhoff, Cambray Penning and Jessica Thompson were selected as this year's Sara Lee Yoder Scholarship recipients. Andrew Ruskusky was selected as this year's Don Kliebenstein Scholarship recipient. Nichole Onnen was selected as this year's Irene Stout Scholarship recipient. Sara Lee Yoder was a long time friend of the hospital and active community member. Don Kliebenstein was a member of the GCMH Foundation Board and member of the Scholarship Selection committee. Irene Stout is a current GCMH Foundation Board member and long time hospital volunteer. Each scholarship recipient will receive $1,000 towards their schooling.

Kylee is attending Hawkeye Community College working towards a Practical Nursing (LPN) degree. Trista is attending Allen College working towards a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN). Brianne is attending Midwestern University and is in their Physician's Assistant program. Cambray is attending Ellsworth Community College and is working towards her RN. Jessica is attending Allen College and is working towards a Bachelor of Health Science in Diagnostic Medical Sonography. Andrew is attending Allen College and is working towards a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN). Nichole Onnen is attending Kaplan University and is working towards her RN.

The selection committee received many qualified applicants. Eligibility criteria included:

Article Photos

GCMH Foundation Board members Irene Stout, Toni Nederhoff and Joyce Schmidt with the 2012 GCMH Foundation Healthcare Career Scholarship recipients. (L to R): Irene Stout, Nichole Onnen, Kylee Button, Trista Metz, Andrew Ruskusky, Jessica Thompson, Cambray Penning, Toni Nederhoff and Joyce Schmidt.

Student must currently be enrolled in an accredited healthcare career program leading to licensure or a clinical laboratory degree (i.e. Nursing School, Physical Therapy School). Student must have completed at least one semester of their official, accredited healthcare program. Student must be enrolled at least part time for either undergraduate (with a minimum of 6 credit hours) or graduate programs (with a minimum of 4 credit hours). Student must reside in or have graduated from a high school in the Grundy County Memorial Hospital service area of Butler, Grundy, Hardin and Tama counties

Cumulative Post-Secondary GPA maintained at 2.5 or higher.

A Card Tournament will be held on November 7, 2012 in Wellsburg to raise funds for the scholarships. For questions about the 2013 scholarship, please contact Erin Schildroth, GCMH Community Outreach Coordinator, at 319-824-4147.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web