Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

REC meeting

September 24, 2011
Reinbeck Courier

Thursday evening, Sept. 8th, the Grundy County REC conducted its 75th Annual Meeting at the Grundy Center High School. An audience of about 200 people was in attendance.

President Kevin Pruisner of Dike conducted the business meeting. Larry Rohach, Reinbeck, was re-elected and Laura Hommel, Eldora, was elected to three year terms as Directors of the Cooperative.

General Manager, Jim Limburg, reported on the operations and financial performance of the Cooperative during the past year.

Grundy Center Mayor, Rex Van Wert, shared about how Grundy Center REC's commitment to the community benefits Grundy Center and surrounding areas.

Ken Kuper, Executive Vice President and General Manager of Corn Belt Power Cooperative talked about power supply and electric cooperatives. Brian Kading, General Manager from Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives talked about the history of the electric cooperatives. The re-organization meeting was held immediately following the Annual Meeting and the officers elected were: President, Donald Poppens; Vice-President, Ernie Podhajsky; Treasurer, Earl Slinker; Secretary, Jason Paper and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer, Larry Rohach.

Winners of the 5-$100 cash prizes were: Albert Abbas, Ackley; George Abbas, Aplington; Ellen Krezik and Steven Rash, Clutier and Bruce Morrison, Traer.

Winners of the 5-$50 cash prizes were: Peggee Cuson and David Hommel, Eldora; Grace Harrenstein, Grundy Center; Joe Schipper, Parkersburg; and James Monat, Traer. Winners of the 40-$20 cash prizes were: Edward Ubben, Aplington; Jay Duncan, Denise Isaacson, Clifford Sams and Smith Pleasantview, Beaman; John Hayek, Harry Hlas, Freddie Kubik, Jean Miller, Vera Sevcik, John Svoboda and Lawrence Svoboda,Clutier: Todd Button, Beverly Caputo, Sue Lynne Freese, Bette Hammond, Brett Katzer and Lois Katzer, Conrad; Glen Draper and Don Price, Eldora; Leslie Bern, Robert Knaack, Dale Whaley and Lyle Wrage, Gladbrook; Mark Buskohl, John Krull, James Steinmeyer and Marvin Steinmeyer, Grundy Center; James Svendsen, Marshalltown; Betty Aswegan, Keith Coates and Herman Luhring, Parkersburg; Barmar Farms, Inc. and Glen Witt, Reinbeck; Lawrence Mochal and Larry Sevcik. Toledo; Alice Chizek, Lillian Dostal and Ervin Hanus, Traer. Brad Aukes, Wellsburg.

An electric grill given away in a special drawing was won by Lareen Steppee, Steamboat Rock.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web