Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Iowa youth recognized for cattle projects

September 17, 2011
Reinbeck Courier

Twelve Iowa youth were recognized for their achievements with purebred breeding heifer projects during the 2011 Iowa State Fair.

The Iowa Cattlemen's Association coordinates the Iowa Beef Heifer Award, which is sponsored by the Iowa State Fair and Iowa Beef Breeds Association. This annual program evaluates leadership and involvement in breed organizations and community activities as well as responsibilities and growth within their project. All 4-H, FFA and junior association members who own and exhibit a market beef or breeding heifer at the Iowa State Fair are eligible to enter.

Finalists in each breed area were interviewed by a diverse committee during the Iowa State Fair, including breed representatives. The winners of each breed division received a certificate for the purchase of a registered female. Show halters, sponsored by Kent Feeds, were presented to runners-up.

This year's Iowa Beef Heifer Award winners (listed first) and runners-up, by breed, are:

Angus - Katie Friedericks, Walcott; (no runner-up); Charolais - Anne Deutsch, Newton; Hunter Wilkening, State Center; Chianina - Cody Butler, State Center; Keiffer Sexton, Ainsworth; Hereford - Colin Johnson, Iowa Falls; Blake Solsma, Sanborn; Limousin - Rachel Anne Brownlee, New Virginia; Maine Anjou - Addison Van Vliet, Pella; (two runners-up) Kaleb Miller, Lacona and Chyann Smith, Storm Lake; and Simmental - Meg Edler, Gladbrook; (no runner-up).

Applications for the annual award are available in the following breed divisions: Angus, Charolais, Chianina, Gelbvieh, Hereford, Limousin, Maine-Anjou, Red Angus, Salers, Shorthorn or Simmental.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web